Stay hungry, stay foolish

I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life…

I decided to drop out and trust that it would all work out OK. It was pretty scary at the time, but looking back it was one of the best decisions I‘ve ever made.

If I had never dropped out, I would have never drop in on that calligraphy class, and personal computers might not have the wonderful typography that they do. Of course it was impossible to connect the dots looking forward when I was in college…

…Again…You can only connect the dots looking backwards…So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You got to trust in something your guts, destiny, life, karma, whatever…

So, at 30 I was out (fired from my own company) – and that was devastating. I really did not know what to do for a few months. …But something slowly began to dawn on me. I still loved what I did. ….I had been rejected, but I was still in love and I started over…

Sometimes life hits you in the head with a brick. Don’t lose faith.

You got to find what you love and that is a truth for your work as it is for your lovers…. If you haven’t found yet, keep looking. Do not settle. As with all matters of the heart you will know when you find it.

For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: If today is the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today? And whenever the answer was no for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.

Remembering that we are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose.

Death is Life’s change agent.

Your time is limited. Do not waste it living someone else’s life. … Have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. Somehow they already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

Stay hungry, stay foolish!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stay hungry, stay foolish

  1. globalunison says:

    This is just a great post! I am planning on to choose a field for my higher studies and I am actually very confused! this post helped me to a great extent, as you said “Stay hungry, stay foolish”.
    Thank you for such a thought Palvos 🙂
    -Naima.

  2. Excellent words of wisdom. Thank you for your inspiration Pavlos.

  3. Pingback: Faith and the Gay Lifestyle « Cite Simon

Leave a Reply

